Northeast Auto & Cycle School was founded in 1969. For over 45 years Northeast has been Maine’s Leader in driver training for the teenager and the adult.

Northeast Auto & Cycle School

Our classroom setting is a professional environment for drivers education. The Northeast team is committed to making the classroom experience a fun, interactive and impactful learning experience. Many traffic concerns are addressed during the course including understanding the risks involved with driving, the general movement and operation of a vehicle, driving in adverse conditions, crash avoidance, alcohol and drugs effect on driving, and different types of parking.

 

Northeast Auto & Cycle School - Bangor, MEDriving school classroom, Bangor ME



Drivers Education Course

Our goal is to have all students excel in the course, pass their written exam and complete the 40 hours within 5 weeks. We understand, however, that each student is unique and we work hard to adapt to each student’s pace of learning the skills and concepts that are important to being a good driver. It is best when the classroom education is integrated with the behind-the-wheel training. Students should be expected to drive 1-3 hours per week after the initial curriculum requirement is met.

 

Applicant must be 15 years old at the beginning of the first class (State Law). A non-refundable $100 deposit is required to hold your place in class. Tuition should be paid in full by the first class in the course. We do offer one payment plan (see Student Driver Course Policies below). With Online Registration, we accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express through PayPal. If mailing a Check or Money Order, send to 13 Harlow Court, Bangor, ME 04401.

 

 

Northeast Driving SchoolNortheast Auto & Cycle School - Bangor, ME

 


Student Driver Course Policies

1.  Attendance – Each drivers edcuation student must complete thirty hours of classroom instruction.  Students are allowed to miss up to two classes.  However, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles requires that students make up any missed class. If a student arrives late or departs early, the missed time must be made up.  Attendance will be recorded by the classroom instructor.  Students are required to complete ten hours of behind-the-wheel instruction.  A 24 Hour notice is required to cancel an agreed upon driving session.  A student has six months from the time of their last drive to complete the course.


2.  Grading/Evaluation – Students must achieve an 80% or above on the final course test to complete the course and receive their permit. Students will be evaluated by test scores, quizzes, and homework. These are taken from the Maine Drivers Manual and Responsible Driver textbook, which will be provided by the school. All assignments must be passed in.


3.  Birth Certificate – Students are to present an official birth certificate from a state, city or town prior to starting the course.  The original must be presented for verification and a copy will be made.

 

Drivers Education in BangorDriving Safety

 

4.  Parental Involvement – In order for a student to receive a permit, a parent or guardian must participate.  This requirement can be met in two ways.  A parent or guardian may attend a Parent Night or they may ride in an instruction vehicle while their child is receiving driving instruction.    Parent participation will be recorded in the student’s record. 


5.  Tuition/Charges/Refunds – The total course fee is $450.  A non-refundable $100 deposit is required at registration.  The total balance is due by the first day of the course.  A $20 fee will be charged for returned checks.  Charges will be assessed for driving instruction no-shows for agreed upon driving times or canceling without a 24 hour notice.  Those charges will be as follows:  First Occurrence $25, Second Occurrence $35 and Third Occurrence & above $45. Any student who does not attend the entire course can receive a pro-rated refund for the hours that they did not attend excluding the deposit.


6. Payment Plan – We only offer one payment for our Driver’s Ed course. The Payment Plan includes:
a) $100 at registration (non-refundable)
b) $175 at Class #1
c) $175 by Class #5


7.  Alcohol & Drugs – Northeast Auto & Cycle School has a Zero Tolerance policy when it comes to alcohol and drugs.  Any student caught with or exhibiting the effects of alcohol or drugs will be removed from the course. 


8.  Tobacco – Northeast does not allow the use of tobacco on school property or in company vehicles.


9.  Behavior – Reasons for removal from the course include harassment, being disruptive, disorderly or irresponsible.  If a student is caught cheating or stealing, he/she will be removed from the course.